Baltimore Jazz Calendar

Welcome to the BJA calendar! We hope you like it, but please feel free to contact us (webmaster@baltimorejazz.com) with any issues you experience.

This calendar is a community-powered public service of the Baltimore Jazz Alliance. For information and to submit events, visit events.baltimorejazz.com

Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.

Jazz Vocalist Barry Moton

October 24 @ 5:00 pm - 8:00 pm

Barry Moton, vocals
Shawn Simon, bass
Tyler Leak, drums
Donald Walcott, keys

A combination of jazz, funk, and a little bit of r&b/soul.

Barry Moton is a Peoria, Illinois native who earned his BA in Vocal Jazz Performance from Southern Illinois University at Edwardsville, studying with Reggie Thomas. He furthered his education via the real HU experience, and earned his Master’s Degree in Vocal Jazz Performance from the lustrous Howard University while studying with the great Connaitre Miller.

A true renaissance man, Moton wrote the critically acclaimed radio drama ‘Day Dream’ inspired by the life of jazz icon Billy Strayhorn. It has been performed at the John F. Kennedy Center for the Performing Arts. Moton’s credits also include performances at the Mid Atlantic & the Al Sears festivals, as well as sharing stages with legendary artists like Cyrus Chestnut, Vanessa Rubin, and the late Roy Hargrove. Barry Moton is a musical mood that listeners will keep on repeat.

This show is a release party for his new EP “What Had Happened Was”, which is a nod to the myriad of excuses we make to stop us from putting ourselves out there. It features the rich textures of funk, the lurid nuances of electronic, and the eclectic chords of jazz, in particular, are simmering in the vocal stylings of Barry Moton’s golden voice. With noted legends such as Al Jarreau, Joe Williams, and Luther Vandross among his major influences, it is no surprise that Moton’s warm bari-tenor timbre waltzes through notes leaving listeners with a comforting familiarity with any song that he sings.

Showtime is 5 pm ET/4 pm CT/3 pm MT/2 pm PT/9 pm GMT

A limited number of in-person seats are $20
Proof of COVID-19 vaccination required at door
In -person attendees receive a link to the recording to view for one week after the show.

Streaming cost is $10
The link will be revealed to live stream participants 15 minutes before the show
and will remain active through Oct 30

Donations are welcomed.

Check out these selections from thier new EP:

Night and Day: https://youtu.be/oqVj2eUmNAg

Nubian Dreams: https://youtu.be/Tht8DF2Xeqg

::concert, An die Musik LIVE!::

Details

Date:
October 24
Time:
5:00 pm - 8:00 pm
Event Category:
https://www.instantseats.com/?fuseaction=home.artist&VenueID=321&artistid=22407

Organizer

erinconnellytpt@gmail.com

Venue

An die Musik LIVE!
409 North Charles Street Second Floor
Baltimore, MD 21201 USA
+ Google Map
Phone:
(410) 385-2638
View Venue Website

For questions about the calendar or to report incorrect or inappropriate content, please contact calendar@baltimorejazz.com.