Baltimore Jazz Calendar

Welcome to the BJA calendar! We hope you like it, but please feel free to contact us (webmaster@baltimorejazz.com) with any issues you experience.

This calendar is a community-powered public service of the Baltimore Jazz Alliance. For information and to submit events, visit events.baltimorejazz.com

Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.

Eri Yamamoto/ Ikuo Takeuchi Duo

November 6, 2022 @ 2:00 pm - 3:00 pm

Eri Yamamoto and Ikuo Takeuchi
Website Video

A favorite duo for Baltimore fans and worldwide!

Eri Yamamoto, pianist/composer
Ikuo Takeuchi, drummer

Since moving from Kyoto, Japan to the United States in 1995, Eri Yamamoto has established herself as one of jazz’s most original and compelling pianists and composers. Eri’s tenth leader album, life, is a generous new collection of unique songs. As the album title suggests, the music portrays a wide range of her experiences — from joyful to introspective, reflecting the vibrancy of New York City and exploring mysteries of nature and memory.

Eri has developed a unique sound and repertoire and has built a loyal following in New York and abroad. They have toured the U. S., Canada, Australia, Europe, and Japan, with appearances at major festivals. She has moved audiences with her renditions of her own compositions and her spontaneous improvisations.

Eri has also been collaborating with such creative and celebrated musicians as William Parker, Daniel Carter, Hamid Drake, Federico Ughi, Yves Leveille and Paul McCandless. Eri has appeared on five William Parker recordings and has performed in the U.S., Canada, Italy, Holland, Norway, Tunisia, Portugal and South Africa with his trio and sextet.

Ikuo Takeuchi, born in Japan, is a drummer, composer and has lived in New York City since 1988. He has been regularly performing in New York city and touring to Europe and Japan. Experience to play with many musicians such as Ron McClure, Cecil McBee, Richie Beirach, Eddie Henderson, George Gazone, Bruce Saunders, Jacob Sacks, the late Mr. Arnie Lawrence and so on.

Takeuchi earned BFA from the New School university for Jazz & contemporary music in NYC. He studied composition ( especially 20C. music) with Dr. Henry Martin. Also studied drumming with Charli Persip, Michael Carvin, Andrew Cyrill, Kenwood Dennard, Joe Chambers and learned free style of jazz performing with Reggie Workman. He has been the regular drummer of Eri Yamamoto trio for twenty years.

Showtime is 2 pm ET/1 pm CT/12 pm MT/11 am PT/6 pm GMT

Limited in-person seats: $25/ $10 full-time students with valid ID
In-person attendees receive a link to the recording to view for one week.
Ticket sales end 1 hr before showtime; tickets can be purchased at the door if any remain.

Streaming Cost is $15
The link will be revealed to live stream participants 15 minutes before the show
and will remain active through Nov. 13

::concert, An die Musik LIVE!::In-person, Live-streamed

Details

Date:
November 6, 2022
Time:
2:00 pm - 3:00 pm
Event Category:
Website:
https://www.instantseats.com/?fuseaction=home.artist&VenueID=321&artistid=17964

Organizer

erinconnellytpt@gmail.com

Venue

An die Musik LIVE!
409 North Charles Street Second Floor
Baltimore, MD 21201 USA
+ Google Map
Phone:
(410) 385-2638
View Venue Website

For questions about the calendar or to report incorrect or inappropriate content, please contact calendar@baltimorejazz.com.