Baltimore Jazz Calendar

Welcome to the BJA calendar! We hope you like it, but please feel free to contact us (webmaster@baltimorejazz.com) with any issues you experience.

This calendar is a community-powered public service of the Baltimore Jazz Alliance. For information and to submit events, visit events.baltimorejazz.com

Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.

Dan Wallace & Derrick Michaels Coalition

June 23 @ 8:00 pm - 9:00 pm

Dan Wallace & Derrick Michaels
Playing the music of Dan Wallace

Dan Wallace: alto sax
Derrick Michaels: tenor sax
Chris Frick: piano
Joel Kelsey: bass
Dominic Smith: drums

Dan Wallace and Derrick Michaels officially met shortly after Dan’s graduation from college and Derrick’s return to playing saxophone after a long hiatus. These events happened at almost the same time. That pair of concurrent events came about 10 years ago, and Dan and Derrick’s friendship has been growing slowly for all of those 10 years. There are a great many things about which Dan and Derrick disagree, but one area where they concur is having respect for high-level saxophone playing. Throughout these past 10 years Dan and Derrick have had many conversations about what makes a great saxophone player, a great musician, and a great artist. They may disagree about some aspects of all of those designations, but that disagreement has led to a great many fascinating conversations.

Dan has written a set of music for himself and Derrick to be featured on together, because though they may not agree on what: a great saxophone player; a great musician; or a great artist; is, they see all of those labels in each other.

Showtime is 8 pm ET/7 pm CT/6 pm MT/5 pm PT/12 am GMT

Limited in-person seats: $20
Proof of COVID-19 vaccination required at door
In -person attendees receive a link to the recording to view for one week after the show.

Streaming cost is $15
The link will be revealed to live stream participants 15 minutes before the show
and will remain active through June 30

Donationls welcomed!

::concert, An die Musik LIVE!::

Details

Date:
June 23
Time:
8:00 pm - 9:00 pm
Event Category:
Website:
https://www.instantseats.com/?fuseaction=home.artist&VenueID=321&artistid=23409

Organizer

erinconnellytpt@gmail.com

Venue

An die Musik LIVE!
409 North Charles Street Second Floor
Baltimore, MD 21201 USA
+ Google Map
Phone:
(410) 385-2638
View Venue Website

For questions about the calendar or to report incorrect or inappropriate content, please contact calendar@baltimorejazz.com.